34th Bienal de São Paulo

Vincent Meessen selected for the 34th Bienal de São Paulo

04/09 - 05/12/2021

Ciccillo Matarazzo Pavilion, Parque Ibirapuera, portão 3, Vila Mariana
São Paulo

Free entrance

The 34th Bienal de São Paulo – Faz escuro mas eu canto – lays claim to the right to complexity and opacity, both in expressions of art and culture as well as in the identities of individuals and social groups. The fulcrum of the project – at which multiple situations of encounter are articulated between art and the public – will be the group show that will occupy the Bienal Pavilion. Curated by Jacopo Crivelli Visconti, Paulo Miyada, Carla Zaccagnini, Francesco Stocchi and Ruth Estévez, the show recognizes the urgency of problems that defy life in today's world, while claiming the need for art as a field of encounter, resistance, rupture and transformation.

While this edition officially started in February 2020, it has since been unfolding in space and time with both physical and online programming. This year's digital programme (Feb - April, 2021) kicked off with online talks, courses, and studio visits with the participating artists. The physical exhibition Faz Escuro Mas Eu Canto (Though It’s Dark, Still I Sing) will open on September 4th, 2021 at the Ciccillo Matarazzo Pavilion in São Paulo.

Participating artists:

Abel Rodríguez

Adrián Balseca

Alfredo Jaar

Alice Shintani

Ana Adamović

Anna-Bella Papp

Antonio Dias

Beatriz Santiago Munõz

Carmela Gross

Carolina Maria de Jesus

Clara Ianni

Daniel de Paula

Deana Lawson

Dirk Braeckman

Edurne Rubio

Eleonora Fabião

Eleonore Koch

Emerson Uýra

Frida Orupabo

Gala Porras-Kim

Giorgio Morandi

Grace Passô

Gustavo Caboco

Hélio Oiticica

Jacqueline Nova

Jaider Esbell

Jaune Quick-to-See Smith

Joan Jonas

Jota Mombaça

Juraci Dórea

Koki Tanaka

Lasar Segall

León Ferrari

Luisa Cunha

Lydia Ourahmane

Lygia Pape

Manthia Diawara

Marinella Senatore

Melvin Moti

Musa Michelle Mattiuzzi

Naomi Rincón Gallardo

Neo Muyanga

Nina Beier

Noa Eshkol

Paulo Nazareth

Philipp Fleischmann

Regina Silveira

Sebastián Calfuqueo Aliste

Sung Tieu

Tony Cokes

Trajal Harrell

Vincent Meessen

Ximena Garrido-Lecca

Yuko Mohri

Zózimo Bulbul

Zina Saro-Wiwa

Curatorial team
Chief curator: Jacopo Crivelli Visconti
Adjunct curator: Paulo Miyada
Guest curators: Carla Zaccagnini, Francesco Stocchi and Ruth Estévez

Read more